top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePätrick K

'Guide to Magickal Herbs'


  1. Judy Ann Nock Instead of a quickie post...this book was a bit of a quickie in itself.  It is also exciting, because this was the SECOND book, where I have begun connecting with some of you via Instagram.  (sidebar- if you are not following through the app, I have much more personalized snapshots of our lives there @patrickundcalebk)  Anyway, I look forward to seeing how this person and you, the reader of this posting, take with the tea recipes.  For my five or more takeaways from the book:


The touch of the pages being scored and ripped was just delightful.  It was such a mindful touch.  For those who might overlook this detail, it is believed by some (including me) that an imperfect piece of paper actually takes its uniqueness to drive forward a more specified and driven purpose.  eg: The words on the paper have more power to shape manifested meaning.


Cooking in the kitchen as a means for sensory distraction is brought up indirectly here.  This is more an overall means to connect the readers to awareness to the purpose of ingredients in how they come together and play off each other, not by flavor but by energy.


Herbs are an area of gardening I hope to plan an expansive growth for myself this year.  I previously thought I knew an expansive list of what I can work with here in Vermont.  I was shocked to find myself in hot pursuit of information on new things, familiar things and one thing that made me laugh at another story.

  1. Yohimbe- from an African tree that had me looking up how to get this plant, or learn how to keep it indoors...or perhaps it can withstand our zone?!?!  I am still trying to track down if this is cultivated here in the States.

  2. Barberry seeds- I landscape with a lot of sterile barberries.  I was left with the ‘oh duh’ feeling about how these are readily available to me in the late summer and through the autumn.  I do wonder their application potential with being sterile in nature.

  3. Henbane- I think I want to explore this psychedelic...with the guidance of a mentor.  I have long been a curious fan in relation to trauma recovery by use of Ayahuasca and Peyote...this put it in my head to explore someone with a history of working with Henbane medicinally.  Do you know of someone?  Please let me know!

  4. Chicory- someone remind me to share the story of ‘Chick-ery v. ChiCORy’.  It’s so utterly ridiculous, but reading about this herb literally made me laugh from a fond personal memory moment at pottery with Caleb.

Cute couple-crafts are included in here.  This was an aspect of the book I was touched by.  The room to include shared safe energy space in craft- c'mon.  So freaking LOVELY.  There is a rooted fern practice I dog-eared for something to do with Caleb.


Finally, there are so many lovely tea recipes in here.  Not just a ‘toss at you, please try this’ recipe, but recipes that are outlined by the scope of listed herbs listed early on in the book.  The section on teas in relation to repelling unwanted and darker energies from your life was an area I truly appreciated...cast away and flush the system, opening up to renewed healing!


Overall, this was a light book filled with peaceful ways to engage in mindfulness activities while focusing on goals of mental health betterment.  Heavier topics are being found in other books...but this was a lovely break to breathe a little more freely while also keep spinning the wheels in personal growth.



Current and Upcoming Reads: ‘The Noonday Demon’- Andfew Solomon ‘I hear You’ - Michael Sorensen


"The basis of herb magic—and all magic—is the power. This power has worn many names and forms through the centuries; at times even its existence was kept secret; at others it was common knowledge. The power is that which generated and maintains the universe. It is the power that germinates seeds, raises winds, and spins our planet. It is the energy behind birth, life, and death. Everything in the universe was created by it, contains a bit of it, and is answerable to it.” ― Scott Cunningham



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page