top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePätrick K

'The House Witch'

Updated: Feb 2, 2020


This was such an endearing book to read.  It was very grounding...very reasonable in what it tosses out as suggestions.  This book’s foothold is in hearthcraft, for which I will broadly cover as engaging in the energy around you while respecting your center.  This can be translated to a lot of things...in the context of the book, it identified more ‘making a house a home’ and ‘protecting the home’.  (‘home’ is also interchangeable with ‘family’)  If you have an element of spiritual or energy-related observation in life, it would be important to know the guidance around a lot of this hearthcraft practice includes fire.


The section of the book I really loved was the sections sharing recipes and noting food recipes.  In the world of mental health, cooking and baking can be amazing moments for grounding and mindfulness practices.  I get lost in the sensory overloaded distractions of what culinary adventures call for you.  I think most of us do, it requires planning, focus, and takes up the majority of our senses in the process.  There is a bread recipe in here I look forward to taking on as an endeavor for us to try. *** Sidebar: it did make me think about a more focused planting of our garden this year.  My last summer was ambushed with panic, mental health struggles in an unfamiliar time of year for them, and unattended plants and practice which were on my goal list of last year.  I will have to share my garden planning aspirations in a few weeks! ***

Speaking of mindfulness, there are some elements suggested in this book I really want to allow for some time of practice to go by, and offer a more inclusive reflection as to what is being taught.  This book is not theory and application, it’s theory and tangible practice.  Thus...I will practice.




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page